Azbee awards top universities for law

The american society of business publication editors (ASBPE) will open entries for the 2019 azbee awards of excellence november 1, 2018. The azbee awards are highly competitive and celebrate the highest quality reporting, editing and design in business-to-business, trade, association and professional publications. The awards honor all types of publications including magazines, newspapers, newsletters, websites, and digital media. Take a look at the 2018 winner’s gallery for inspiration.

ASBPE’s azbee awards of excellence program is one of the most competitive there is for business-to-business, trade, association, and professional publications. The awards recognize outstanding work by magazines, newsletters, and digital media — web sites, e-newsletters, digital magazines, and blogs.

To help young editors who are just starting their careers, ASBPE started the annual young leaders scholarship in 2001.

The scholarship allows younger editors who might otherwise be unable to attend the ASBPE national conference or boot camps. It is open to all business editors, including print and web.

Scholarships pay the conference or boot camp and hotel room costs for up to five U.S. Applicants. (applicants or their publishing companies are responsible for transportation to and from the conference, any nonconference meals, and other incurred costs.) scholarship recipients also receive a free one-year membership to ASBPE if they are not already members.

Experienced judges with background in business publications read each editorial, design, web, newsletter, and magazine of the year entry. Their introduction to each entry are required and important essays of 250 words or fewer, one describing the publication’s mission and readership and one discussing both the work that went into the entry and its significance to readers.

Top honors go to the magazine of the year in our two revenue divisions: more than $3 million revenue and less than $3 million revenue. The divisions are based on average revenue among all participating publications. ( more on the revenue divisions.)

The cross-platform package of the year category recognizes the coordination of print and digital media packages in the presentation of a single topic. It honors excellence in coordinating print with digital platforms, e.G. Web sites, e-newsletters, blogs, webinars, or podcasts.

The journalism that matters award was first presented in 2009. The award was inspired by ASBPE’s book of the same title, which features case studies of B2B journalists whose articles brought about change within their industries. American university mpa editors may nominate themselves or a deserving colleague.

The first winner of the journalism that matters award was hstoday editor david silverberg in 2009. Silverberg was honored for his criticism in the pages of his homeland-security magazine of the national football league’s unwillingness to run advertisements mentioning terrorism, borders, and immigration. After the hstoday articles, the NFL changed its policy.

And in 2011, ASBPE presented its second journalism that matters award to the spine journal, which took a major step toward protecting the integrity of all scientific publishing in its june 2011 issue. The special issue was devoted to “shining a critical light on the limitations of industry-sponsored research.”

In may 2018, the ASBPE foundation recognized the nonprofit vtdigger, an online publication covering vermont business and government, for its investigative reporting. In 2014, vtdigger uncovered possible financial improprieties by one of vermont’s most prominent business people, bill stenger, and his partners in an investment firm developing jay peak, a winter recreation resort near the canadian border. As a result of several years of reporting, led by founding editor anne galloway, the U.S. Securities and exchange commission launched an investigation and later brought charges against stenger and his partners.

This “best in class” prize, which comes with a $500 cash award, goes to the individual writer whose work most reflects inventiveness of approach (and especially use of narrative style), insightfulness, balance in the presentation of a complex subject, depth of investigation, and impact among the community of readers. More about the barr awards

Those qualities are among the ones exemplified by stephen barr, a perennial ASBPE excellence-award winner in his role as senior contributing editor of CFO magazine. Stephen died in 2002, at age 43. The award is endowed by his family, and awarded through the ASBPE foundation. College confidential american university past winners include:

• burt helm of inc. Magazine for his november 2012 story, “ after the squeeze,” which examined the causes and effects of a bank-lending drought that has disproportionately hit the small-business people who are the publication’s main audience.

• jenna greene, for her article “civil inaction”, exploring the legal quagmire that has prevented victims of radioactive contamination near washington state’s hanford nuclear reservation from receiving justice, in the june 20, 2011 issue of the national law journal.

Contest entrants don’t compete directly for the barr award. Rather, a panel of judges will select the “best in show” among the top feature-writing categories, identifying the finest example of writing that displays the qualities barr’s work exemplified:

To receive the lifetime achievement award, a candidate must meet four requirements: 1) significant involvement (25 years or more) with business publications. Nominees need not currently hold editorial positions, and may be retired, but ideally will have spent the bulk of their careers in senior editorial positions or will have served the industry in some significant way. Nominees need not be members of ASBPE. Past nominees not selected in previous years are encouraged to reapply.Please provide the nominee’s current title and employer/business (if retired, please state such). Provide a brief description or résumé of the nominee’s job history. Include dates, job titles, magazines, companies. 2) A commitment to editorial excellence. This may be demonstrated by general reputation of their publication(s); industry-related awards (e.G., ASBPE azbees, neal awards, folio:, tabbies); internal company awards; other forms of recognition or other valid measures of editorial success. 3) A commitment to the business/professional press. Nominees should be or should have been involved in lending their experience and time to benefit others in the business press. For example, this may be participation in local or national business press or related organizations; corporate or university teaching; mentoring programs; or significant research or publication of articles on business press issues. 4) A commitment to the industry(ies) the nominee’s publication(s) serve. Examples might include committee work with trade or professional associations or standards groups; frequent speaking engagements at industry events; significant research or publication of articles on industry issues; or significant advocacy work with government agencies.The lifetime achievement award winner will receive the award on the evening of the awards banquet, where the honoree also will receive a special tribute. Washington university enrollment the winner’s name will be announced to the public prior to the banquet. A call for nominations goes out around the beginning of each year.